Google’s cloud performance package has gone through several incarnations, from Google Apps to G Suite and now Google Workspace. With each change of name, prices and features were also shaken. Google allowed free legacy G Suite accounts to stay for a surprisingly long time, but said in late 2021 that these users would have to upgrade or lose their accounts. Now Google has changed course and will allow them to stay on Grandpa’s free plan as long as they are willing to skip a few hoops. reports 9to5Google.
The main Google Workspace accounts are not expensive, reaching only $ 6 per month per user, and Google has reduced to $ 3 per month for previous accounts. These accounts include access to all common applications such as Gmail, Drive and Meet, but also have additional storage, special support and enterprise management features.
However, Google has allowed people to set up these accounts with custom domains, and losing access to this domain in Gmail can be a real pain for users. Even at the reduced price, there was a lot of anger from people who used these accounts for personal use.
After sending several surveys in recent months, Google has apparently backed down. Those on the free G Suite plan will not have to upgrade, but will need to confirm that they are not using business accounts. If you have one of these free plans and want to keep it, you will need to log in and confirm it by June 27. Please wait, and Google will automatically move you to the recommended (paid) Workspace plan.
A common case of using the free level was to create a family domain so that everyone has their own personalized, centrally managed email. This will still be allowed after the transition, but Google says it may remove some business-targeted features and there will be no product support. In addition, Google reserves the right to transfer businesses to Workspace if they become aware that you have misrepresented the nature of your use.
And what about the people who reluctantly switched to the paid plan before this decision? Google says affected people should contact support. They are unlikely to be able (or willing) to move users back to the original plan, but may offer account credits or other free credits.