With the launch of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare II, players have access to a wide variety of multiplayer game modes, including Team Deathmatch, Search and Destroy, and the new Prisoner Capture. One of the most popular modes in the series is Hardcore, which has been in the series for years. This intense mode removes the HUD and increases damage across the board. But does this mode appear in the new one Modern Warfare II?

Here’s what you need to know about Hardcore mode in Modern Warfare II.

Recommended reading:

Does Modern Warfare II have a Hardcore mode?

Technically, no. Modern Warfare II no Hardcode mode, at least not at startup. However, developer Infinity Ward has announced that a Hardcore mode — now called Tier 1 — will come later. It’s unclear why the game isn’t launching with Tier 1 mode, but at least we know it’s coming soon.

When will level 1 be added?

For anyone wondering, level 1 is not in the game at launch, but will be available soon.

Stay frosty 🫡

— Infinity Ward (@InfinityWard) October 28, 2022

At this point, it’s unclear exactly when the mode will arrive, but developer Infinity Ward says it will be added “soon.” Let’s hope we don’t have to wait until Season 1 starts on November 16, 2022.

What is Tier 1 mode?

Assuming the mod works as it has in the past, level 1 will reduce the player’s health to 30 out of 100. It will also remove the HUD except during UAVs and other rare occasions. Additionally, friendly fire is enabled in this mode.

This results in an incredibly fast flow that is not for the faint of heart. You’ll need to be careful not to accidentally eliminate your teammates – whether it’s with bullets, explosives or kill streaks. You will also have a heightened awareness of the map to effectively navigate your surroundings. With that in mind, it’s best to spend some time with the game before level 1 is added so that you have a better knowledge of the map. It’s unclear if there will be any further changes to the mode, but for now we can count on it playing just like Hardcore from previous games.

There will usually be a playlist of different modes under the Hardcore umbrella, such as Team Deathmatch, Domination, and Kill Confirmed. It’s unclear at this point which modes will be available as part of the Hardcore playlist, but you should expect some of the main flagship modes that the series is known for.

So for now, players will have to stick with the core game modes until Tier 1 is added. Fortunately, there are plenty of modes to choose from, so you’ll be plenty busy in the meantime.

Editors’ recommendations